Pirate Party

Birthdays remind me of family, and family reminds me of my mom. She passed away three years ago today. Somehow it makes complete sense that this post is coming to you today. This is no reflection of how she threw birthdays, they were much more home-made and low-key. I loved them. And still adore the photos of them. But she would have gotten swept up with the fun of this – a kid at heart, to her core.

I’m getting in into the weeds with Remy’s 4th birthday coming up in November, so I thought I’d share what we did last year. It was crazy fun, and everyone really got into it. Remy was (and still is) fascinated by pirates. What’s not to love?! And on top of loving them, he can make this adorable snarly face and say “Arrrrrg Matey!” He’ll rarely do it in front of other people, so you’ll have to take my word on it. However, I think I captured his pirate face quite well on the invitation. FYI – all the photography was done by Leia Amarra, she’s rad and really fun to have around!

I’m not really a great artist, so I got creative to pull it off. Took a picture of his cute mug, used an app to change it to a sketch, printed said picture, set another blank sheet on top, and used a pen to “draw” my own. I added the hat and eye patch myself. I could have just dressed him up as a pirate and used that photo, but I wanted something with a bit more texture. Wasn’t sure how it would turn out (and almost bailed on it at multiple points) but LOVED it in the end!

Screen shot 2013-09-13 at 9.30.01 PM

After the invite goes out, feet are to the fire to make it happen. There’s no going back. I ordered cupcake toppers from MamaMiasCupcakes, cake topper from YesMaamSweets (seriously, I couldn’t resist the amazingness of a cake topper), and a bunch of pirate swag from here. I built a cardboard cutout ship, and found a cool set of plans for it from Mr. McGroovy’s. If I had a word of advice here, it’s not to leave it to the last minute! It turned out well as a decor item, and frankly I was lucky that it was too dang cold for much more than that! But how cool is it that you can get plans to make a pirate ship out of cardboard boxes?!

Activities for the kids were decorating paper pirate ships, playing pirates (have to dress up!) and lots of pirate toys. Imaginations were in full effect. I was SO much fun to watch this happen.

Screen shot 2013-09-14 at 3.10.56 PM
Leia Amarra Photography
Screen shot 2013-09-14 at 9.27.57 PM
Leia Amarra Photography

The food was focused on things you could grab and eat, little quiches, corndogs juice boxes, cupcakes, ice tea and later indian food! I covered the table with brown craft paper covered with map-like drawings. You can’t really see it in these, but it worked great! The kids table had map place mats that the kids took home as well. Remy still plays with his when we need to go on a treasure hunt.

Screen shot 2013-09-16 at 7.37.26 PM
Leia Amarra Photography

As you can see, we all dressed up. It made for a really special night. How many times do you get to dress up outside of Halloween?! Unfortunately Remy really only wanted to wear his for about 5 mins, but I’ll take it! As the party came to a close, super hero capes came out. Onto the next!

2 thoughts on “Pirate Party

What do you think?

