Banana mini muffins {gluten free}

Let's Fête GF Banana Muffins_1

Recently, nobody in our house has been eating banana’s at their typical break-neck speed which has resulted in some over-ripe fruit in the fruit bowl. As I am not one to waste, I see two options here, and I’m sure there are more. Either you throw them into a smoothie (or the freezer for a smoothie at a later date) or you bake some banana bread!

Last weekend I went the banana bread route, but instead did mini-muffins. Because you know how I love all things mini. And, this was out of love for all my boys because I’m currently eating supa dupa healthy, in the first 10 days of a nutritional reset type of thing. Anyway, I knew I wouldn’t be eating any of these but still wanted to make them as healthy as possible. Because I care.

This was the first time I’ve baked with coconut sugar. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the sustainability of coconut sugar, so I need to look into that more. But it worked very well in this recipe.

I riffed off of this recipe from Yammie’s Noshery, and changed up a few things. They turned out delicious, maybe a tad on the sweet side (though hubby and boys said they were perfect). PS, yes, I tasted one…have to do that to tell you if they were any good, ya know.

Let's Fête GF Banana Muffins_2

What you’ll need:

  • 2 over-ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 1/4 c apple sauce (you could add one more banana and no apple sauce, depending on what you have)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 cup gluten free flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

How to make:

preheat oven to 375, and fill mini muffin tins with muffin cups (Remy’s fave job) or grease them up with coconut oil. This recipe made me 36 mini muffins.

  • mix all wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately, then add wet to dry and fully combine.
  • fill each muffin cup almost all the way
  • pop in the oven for 10-12 mins or until a toothpick comes out clean
  • Let cool a bit…then EAT!

My boys have enjoyed these for snacks, with lunch, etc all week. I threw half of them in the freezer for a later date as well. I’m sure they freeze brilliantly.

Hope you enjoy!

Let's Fête GF Banana Muffins

What do you think?

