let’s fête foodie friday {kale, brussels sprout & hemp seed salad}

Let's Fête Kale Brussels Salad

I’ll hop on the Foodie Friday bandwagon! I love to cook. I love (mostly) following recipes and just winging it. The more you do it, the more fun it is. And I really hope I’m passing this along to my kids. Both boys instantly pull up a chair to help, which I love. However, this has become a really tense time too. Lot’s of competition in our house right now. We’ll work that out though.

For today’s foodie Friday, I’m pulling something out that I make all the time – and isn’t it a vibrant spring color? It was born one day when I had a craving for a salad, but wanted something new. And I had a huge amount of brussels sprouts that I didn’t want to roast for the 346th time. So, shredded them up, added some lemon, honey, mustard and salt, and voila. It really is that easy, but there’s a recipe below if you’d like it! And, it’s really flexible – you can add other vegetables or fruit, maybe some avocado?

ps: the picture above is the one from my iPhone I sent to my sister after I made this for the first time. She ended up falling in love with the simplicity as well, and went on to create her own versions of it with all kinds of veggies. And no, it’s not a great photo – but it’s the OG shot, so had to go with it.

What you need:

  • 4 cups of kale
  • 3 cups brussels sprouts
  • 2 T lemon
  • 1 T honey
  • 1T mustard
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1-2 T hemp seeds (optional)

How you do it:

  • shred the kale by removing leaves from ribs and slicing thinly
  • trim brussels sprouts, slice in half, and then thinly slice these halves width-wise
  • put all your shredded kale and brussels sprouts into a medium bowl, and top with 1T lemon (I just squeeze a bit on here, and don’t measure…eeek), and a pinch of salt. Mix it up a bit so the veggies get some lemon on them. Let this sit while you mix the rest of the dressing.
  • mix remaining lemon (1T), honey and mustard together with a little salt and pepper (to taste) – and, like most things I do, you can just throw these into your bowl with your greens instead of mixing in advance. I know it doesn’t combine as well, but sometimes you just don’t want the dishes!
  • mix honey mustard dressing into the bowl of veggies
  • top with a sprinkling of those help seeds (gives a bit of a nutty flavor and adds some good protein, omega 3s, amino acids…)

You can also add some olive oil to the dressing, if you like. I prefer my salads lightly dressed, so this recipe works well for me without oil.

What do you think?

