let’s fête foodie friday {lemon & egg pancakes}

weekend 041914After I had my first son my sister bought me this baby/toddler cook book called The Petit Appetit. As a first-time-mom it was a godsend. You question everything you do, and are pretty sure you’re doing it all wrong. So, having a little resource like this was great. As I got more comfortable with the fact that I wasn’t going to kill my child with food, I stopped using the recipes in this fantastic little book (I mean, do I need to refer to a recipe to steam and puree peaches?!? I did, but I got over it). I looked back through the other day and forgot that along with all the baby recipes, it has so many fantastic basic recipes for older kids. One that I had never tried was this lemon pancake recipe. With a half sick little one at home I gave it a go – and I’m glad I did! We have a new go-to recipe for something a little different and very yummy!

Here are the details if you’d like to try it as well!

you’ll need:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk (i’ve tried whole and almond…both with good results, though the almond makes the pancake a less appetizing color, to be totally honest)
  • 1/2 cup flour (gluten free works well here!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • confectioners sugar for sprinkling

to make:

  • preheat oven to 375
  • whisk eggs and milk together
  • add the flour and salt, and whisk together until a smooth batter with tiny bubbles is formed
  • melt butter in large oven safe skillet, over medium heat (I used our big cast iron skillet). when the butter is hot and begins to sizzle, add the batter and remove from the heat.
  • place skillet in center rack of the oven and bake for 10-12 mins or until pancake is light golden and has risen like a soufflé. the edges will be reaching to the top of the rim of the skillet and nicely browned.
  • remove from the oven, sprinkle with lemon juice and a dusting of sugar
  • cut into pieces and enjoy!

let's fête pancake

I think this is a nice pancake alternative, and a good egg alternative at that. It’s less labor intensive than normal pancakes and the flavor is fresh and different too. A great option for weekday or weekend meals!

PS: I just noticed that the author has her own blog/site and looks really interesting, thought I’d pass that along for my parent readers – might be a great kids nutrition resource. Find it here.

 

What do you think?

