banana blueberry muffins {gluten free}

Let's Fête banana blueberry muffins As I was digging out of the moving clutter this weekend, I realized I might need to feed my kids something that I couldn’t just throw on the table. And, I like to bake things on the weekend that help make the week a little easier as well. You know, breakfast/lunch/snack options that are already prepared really make a difference on those days that even throwing a pb&j together feels like a chore. So, once I dug around and found a few necessary cooking utensils, I got to work on this delicious recipe. These were really moist and full of flavor. And when you use paper muffin cups…well…clean up is a breeze!! Why haven’t I used these before?! I’m feeling dramatically late to the game here. (I got mine from Pick your Plum)

what? you don't bake on the floor? aren't you fancy.
what? you don’t bake on the floor? aren’t you fancy.

you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (omit if using regular flour)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup quick oats
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce (or another mashed ripe banana, if you don’t have)
  • 1/2 cup milk (your choice here)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries, unthawed

to make:

  • preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • set about 18 muffin cups out on a baking sheet, or grease your regular or mini muffin tins (adjust baking time accordingly too)
  • combine flour, xanthan gum, sugar, oats, baking powder and salt in one smaller bowl
  • combine mashed bananas, apple sauce, milk, egg, coconut oil and lemon juice into large bowl
  • mix dry ingredients into wet until combined, then fold in blueberries
  • fill muffin cups 3/4 full of batter
  • bake for 20-25 mins, until golden and toothpick comes out clean (well, clean-ish…with blueberries you’ll always have something on there, just make sure it isn’t doughy)
  • let them cool enough to eat

enjoy! (and please check out our new floors in the pic of Remy…don’t you love the dark?!)

Let's Fête banana blueberry muffins

5 thoughts on “banana blueberry muffins {gluten free}

    1. Thank you! I absolutely adore those too. Bought them on a whim not knowing if I’d bake in them or just put crayons or something in there…but they are perfect to brighten up a kitchen. 🙂

  1. These sound good! I love the applesauce in there. That’s what I use in my chicken salad instead of mayonnaise. Do you think almond milk would work, or does it have to be dairy milk?

What do you think?

