holiday recap {july 4th food & fun}

Last week I gave you a little preview of what kind of menu we’d have for the 4th, and I tried mostly new recipes – most of which turned out great. And on top of everything, I was trying to gluten-free-ify one of the new recipes. Yes, it’s kind of risky, but I honestly thought I couldn’t lose.  I’m here to tell you that there were some misses alongside those hits. Nothing was a complete failure, just not as I imagined. We can’t win at everything, now can we?

Here in New England, it rained. Man, it rained a lot on the 4th of July. We went to a town parade (got drenched), saw a movie and ate some yummy food. No fireworks though, which wasn’t a huge downer since we saw some great ones last weekend, and our kids are young enough that they don’t care too much (we also got some sparklers in later in the weekend…photos below).

Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July

As I set out to make the ceviche, salad and pretzel dogs for our dinner, I had to think on my toes a little bit. I knew the biggest risk was the gluten free dough for the pretzel dogs, but I went for it anyway. To be honest, it tasted great…was just really dense…the boys didn’t care for it too much, and Chris and I probably only ate it because it was there. Oh well, I’ll keep trying because I LOVE the idea of it.

Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July

The citrus, beet & fennel salad was AMAZING though. I changed up this recipe a little, just based on the fruit I had (I used 2 grapefruit and 2 oranges) and precooked beets, but stayed true to the rest. It’s really pretty and leftovers were just as delicious.

Let's Fête 4th of July

I also made an amazing ceviche that has become a great standby in our house, you can find it here. I was going to try a new one, but decided I needed to nail this part of the meal if I wasn’t so sure about another part. Thank goodness I did or else we might have left the table a little less satisfied!

Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July

The rest of the weekend we spent playing in the yard and at the beach. We saved all our responsible adult stuff (laundry, yard work, etc) to the very last moment on Sunday.

Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July

I really hope you all had a great weekend too (celebrating the 4th, or not).

Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July Let's Fête 4th of July

Yep. This guy HATED the mustaches! Clearly we were torturing him.

What do you think?

