zucchini chips {recipe from heaven}

Let's Fête zucchini chipsTwo things. 1) I’ll die over just about anything that is salty and crunchy 2) I don’t have to force my kids to eat their veggies, so I count myself as extremely lucky (and yes there is a part of me that secretly takes credit for this because I obviously did an ah-maze-ing job introducing foods to them, so of course they like veggies – even though I know that’s prob not the case). With that said, I do like to change things up a bit. Steamed or roasted veggies can get a little ho-hum day after day.

Along came the zucchini chip.

This bad boy could not be more simple, but I really think it’s all about the ingredients. When there’s just a few involved, you need to make sure they are good. Be sure to use freshly grated parmesan. Like buy a chunk of it and grate it yourself. This is not a place to be lazy (trust me, I tried…I’ll do just about anything to skip a step!). Good salt is the other one. I am currently in desperate love with himalayan sea salt because it packs some major flavor.

And one last thing. This recipe does take some hands-on time. The more chips you want, the more you have to go from egg white to breadcrumb to pan. Can be tedious, but worth it.

Let's Fête zucchini chips_1

Parmesan Zucchini Chips 

adapted from this recipe

what you need (made me one sheet pan of chips, perhaps good for two adults):

  • 1 medium zucchini (let’s say mine was 8 inches long), sliced into 1/4 inch rounds – thinner ones will cook faster, or burn
  • 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon good salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 egg white (I also used some liquid egg whites with some success)

Let's Fête zucchini chips

Let's Fête zucchini chips Let's Fête zucchini chips

how to make:

  • preheat oven to 425
  • oil a baking rack (I used coconut oil spray) and place on a cookie sheet – set aside
  • mix panko, parm cheese, garlic powder, salt and pepper well in a bowl
  • place egg white in a separate bowl, whisk to break it up a bit, or pour about 1/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • set up a little assembly line in this order: zucchini slices, egg whites, panko mixture, baking rack
  • take zucchini slices dip in egg whites, then cover in panko mixture (sometimes pushing the mixture down on the zucchini works well – no need to be delicate here), then place on greased baking rack
  • continue with all zucchini, making sure when on the baking rack nothing is overlapping
  • put in the preheated oven for about 25 mins, or until golden in color
  • let cool a little, you know, so you don’t burn yourself
  • EAT!

 

Let's Fête zucchini chips Let's Fête zucchini chips

These stay crispy for a few hours, but then seem to start to soften. If you have any advice on keeping them crispy, let me know. I imagine you can pop them back in the oven for a bit and that would do the trick. Little risk in needing that though, as I’m pretty sure they’ll disappear pretty fast.

So, while these are a bit time consuming, they are a really great change of the veggie pace. I won’t be making them every night, but will definitely break them out when I have a little extra time or even when we have guests over.

 

What do you think?

