last weekend {animals}

Our lovely weekend was filled with sunshine, a little drizzle here and there, and lots of animals. Both the furry kind and children who behave like animals (I mean that in the nicest possible way). We spent Friday evening at the beach drinking beer and eating pizza – no pics of that – but it was actually CHILLY out! It’s August, so I’m a little surprised, but we pulled sweatshirts on and did it anyway. Saturday afternoon we hung with some friends for a BBQ and crazy kid time. All our kids are around the same age and are finally really playing together. It was fun to see them running around playing chase and whatnot. I mean, there was still plenty of arguing and crying over toys, but that’s a given.

Sunday we went to a new zoo. Not brand new, but new to us. It’s a solid drive away so we’ve saved it for a cooler weekend day that we didn’t have anything planned. As far as zoos go it’s really nice! The animals have lots of room and all of them are very active. Monkeys wrestling, parrots talking to you and giraffes trying to lean over the fence for a kiss. They boys just adored it.

And I have to tell you that Felix actually listened! It’s truly a momentous occasion, people. This child is the most stubborn, strong-willed thing that I have ever met. When we have taken him to places like this in the past he has ended up screaming most of the time because he just wants to be a terror. I can tell anyone that might be in the middle of that, I feel for you, just stick with it and they’ll come around. Sure, I credit his preschool teachers quite a bit, but I’m sure something I’ve said has rubbed off on him too, right? Regardless, he was such a happy fun dude. He’s really coming into his own.

Remy on the other hand spent the weekend acting like a teenager. It’s entirely too early for this, clearly, so I’m hoping he realizes that and snaps out of it. He was full of back-talk and sass the entire weekend. To the point that he actually told me to ‘stop being such a brat’ when I asked him to do something.  We do not use the word brat but I do understand this is the age that there are increasing outside influences…damn you outside influences. You see, this is not like him. He is my sweet boy. He likes to do things ‘right’ and hates anyone to be mad at him. I’m sure this was just a rocky weekend (lots of finger-crossing going on here).

I hope you all had great summer weekends!

xoxo

Let's Fête weekend 81614

 

What do you think?

